Summer is Officially Here…

Now that Memorial Day has come and gone Summer has officially begun, and in San Diego that means time to hit the beach! It was the best winter and spring for surfing Socal has seen in recent memory, and I definitely got my fill of waves. But I’m even more stoked that I got my eldest son Luke comfortable sitting the front of my stand-up paddleboard and my youngest Micah starting to become more comfortable in the water. Next is my English Bulldog Frank “The Tank”, after I get him a life-vest because he sinks in the water like a rock.

Surfing the left at Ponto in Carlsbad…

Another fun event a couple weeks back was the 10th Annual Surfrider Foundation Art Gala at the Powerhouse in Del Mar. It was a great evening with fun friends, good food, and  great art. I donated three of my framed photos to the silent auction which helped raise money for all of the fine causes the Surfrider foundation supports. We also won an auction and brought home a beautiful photo of Sunset Cliffs by local artist Mark Krutiak that now decorates our kitchen and gives the boys something to look at as they eat their pankcakes. You can learn more about the event and see the art donated on the Surfrider Art Gala blog here.

A general view of the inside of the Powerhouse displaying the art for the 10th Annual Surfrider Art Gala. (Photo by Will Parson)

A general view of the outside of the Powerhouse with food, drink and hula dancers for the 10th Annual Surfrider Art Gala. (Photo by Will Parson)

Even though the swells start to slow down in the summer, one thing to look forward to is the paddlboarding season starts to ramp up. Paddleboarding, especially Stand-Up (SUP), is not only one of the fastest growing sports in Southern California but worldwide as well. It’s a great way to get some good core exercise, enjoy the beautiful scenery of the ocean and see the occasional dolphins, sharks, and even whales.

Coming in to the finish line for a third place in the sprint 5K stand-up paddleboard Race at the Encinitas Sports Festival. (Photo by Patrice Malloy)


The start of the Encinitas 5K, with the eventual winner in the front in the blue (I’m in a black cap behind the guy in the gray tank top on the left) (Photo by Patrice Malloy)

There have been some fun events I’ve worked into my work and family schedule this summer so far. I entered the Encinitas Sports Festival last month, where friends and I did the 5K run followed by the 5K paddle, opting for the stand-up on the Naish glide to ease into it. Last week I paddled one of the classic races in San Diego,  “The Loop” race 12 miles around Coronado island. There was an amazing turnout of talented local paddlers as well as others from Los Angeles and even Hawaii. I ended up getting third in the 14′ classic paddleboard division, and it was fun to get back in a rhythm on the knee paddling after taking a year off the sport.  After about two weeks of training I tackled the 20-mile Bay to Bay, and the conditions were much better than the “perfect storm” when I won 14′ there in 2008. I was stoked to cut about 30 minutes off my previous time, spending most of the race on my knees and winning the 14′ division again. I hope to get some descent training in the next couple months and complete my first 32-mile Catalina Classic in August shoulder and schedule permitting. Paddleboarding is a great sport to get into, especially if you love the water and the ocean, and for more information you can go to any of these site below:

Bark

Eaton

NCP

Jamie Mitchell

Paddleboarding

SUP

Course Maps:

The 12-mile Loop Course

The 20-mile Bay to Bay Course

The 32-mile Catalina Classic

Comments

  1. the donated pictures are really killer framed photos as said in the article

Leave a Reply

