Please Help Me

The first Catalina Classic race was held in 1955 (Photo by Kerwin)

Being a native of Southern California, the ocean has always been a special place for me. A couple years back, a friend introduced me to paddleboarding and I immediately fell in love with it. It’s a traditional waterman sport that allows you to be out in the ocean, exploring the beautiful coastline, and also getting a hell of a workout along the way. I found like-minded people who I now call friends who challenge themselves with with marathon distance paddles across the Catalina and Molokai channel every year. For those of you who know me, I don’t feel like I am living unless I have a challenge in my life.

This year, millions of people will embark on the biggest challenge of their lives when they hear the words “You have cancer,” and there’s a good chance that some of them will be people we know and love. I lost my father Don Miralle Sr. to brain cancer in 2004 and my father-in-law Daniel Inskeep II to melanoma in 2007. I have chosen to fight back against this disease and help make a difference by supporting the American Cancer Society’’s mission to eliminate cancer as a major health problem by preventing cancer, saving lives, and diminishing suffering through research, education, advocacy, and service. I am competing in the Catalina Classic 32-mile Paddleboard Race on August 29th, 2010 for the first time and need your help to complete my goal. I have completely dedicated myself to this endeavor and am paddling 50-60 miles a week in the open ocean, swimming and running as part of my training to complete this marathon. I hope for every mile I paddle you can donate something to help the fight against cancer and that will serve as my motivation to keep my arms moving for 6+ hours.

I know times are tight for everyone but please take a moment out of your busy day to support my effort by clicking on my personal ACS page below and making a donation that will go directly towards saving lives. You can directly help the 1.368 million Americans that will be diagnosed with cancer this year alone. Whatever you can give will help and please feel free to forward this email along to anyone else who can help. I truly appreciate your support!

Thank You,

Donald

Please click here to visit my PERSONAL page and donate.

Comments

  1. Claire Lopez says:

    Bravo Donald, great effort, wonderful pictures..Your dad would have been very proud of you..And I am sure he is. Love Aunt Claire

Leave a Reply

