Kona Start Picture Awarded by World Press Photo

I just found out last Friday that my Underwater Start Picture from the Kona Ironman World Championships received First Place Sports Action Single by the World Press Photo Contest 2012. I was stunned not only because I didn’t enter the photo as a single (was submitted as part of my sports portfolio entered in Sports Action Stories) but also because of all the fantastic sports images I had seen in the past year that it went against. Thanks for all the emails and phone calls my family and I have received in the last couple days, I’m really happy and honored to be included in this group. Kudos to all the winners especially Samuel Aranda who won the top honors with picture of the year.Learn more about the organization and view the winning photos at www.worldpressphoto.org. You can read about how I shot this photo on my blog post below or on the Lava website here.

KONA, HI – OCTOBER 8:   A general view of competitors swimming over a school of fish at the mass swim start for the 2011 Ford Ironman World Championship on October 8, 2011 at Kailua Bay in Kona, Hawaii. Considered one of the most grueling races in the world, nearly 2,000 competitors must brave 95 degrees temperature and 90 percent humidity to complete a 3.86 km swim, 180.2 km bike, and a 42.2 km marathon with in an 17 hour time cutoff to be called an “Ironman”. (Photo by Donald Miralle for LAVA)

Comments

  1. Congratulations for your WPP, excelent work Donald

  2. Very well deserved. I’m loving the ways you see the events and the athletes. You are sharing great stories in creative, beautiful ways. Congratulations and looking forward to seeing more!

  3. Congratulations!
    I really like your work.

  4. Congratulations, Donald! What a beautiful place and awesome event captured in such a perfect way 🙂

    I was wondering if I could use one of the pictures you took of me in 2010 on a business card? I’d love an email back from you, thanks!

  5. We can do so much!!! I hope everyone one takes this in to deep consideration of how we can touch people with our thoughts of IMAGE! WE NEED TO UNITE FOR A GREAT ……

Leave a Reply

