LONDON OLYMPICS – Day 7 Phelps Continues to Make History

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Despite his shortcomings in the 400-meter individual medley, Michael Phelps was able to grab gold in the 200-meter individual medley with Ryan Lochte getting silver. Phelps won with a time of 1:54.27 with Lochte right behind him at 1:54.90.  By receiving Gold in the 200 meter individual medley, Phelps is now the first male swimmer to win the same swimming event three Olympics in a row. In the women’s 200-meter breaststroke, Rebecca Soni broke the world record with a time of 2:19:59 and received her 11th gold medal in just the first 6 days. Soni won this same event 4 years ago in Beijing and now is the first woman to defend a breaststroke title in the Olympics.

It was another great day at the swimming pool as the USA dominated once again and luckily my underwater  worked without any problems. I was finally happy with some of my underwater shots, and the only downer of the day was catching a photographer (who will remain unnamed) trying to steal my finish line spot which I had reserved immediately after the morning session with about $40K of camera gear, which he decided he could move over. Luckily nice guy and great snapper Andrew Mills of The Star-Ledger stuck up for me. I don’t know how photographers think they can move other people stuff around, lie to your face, and not think karma will get them in the end. The same kook photographer was talking smack about another photographer in the media room unaware that people could hear him, and then skyped to his family on speaker so everyone could hear say to his wife that “it is harder for me at the Olympics than you at home with all the crying kids.” Are you f’in kldding me? If I said that to my wife the locks would be changed when I got home. Three strikes and you’re out buddy! As a photographer, writer, media member or a human being for the matter, you to be aware of your surroundings and what you say to people. 

Anyways, thought that was worth a mention, and hear are my favorite pics from the day, hope you enjoy and love the feedback!!!

Comments

  1. Love it when atheletes point up to Heavan!!!!!

  2. Jonathan Moore says:

    Moving someone else’s gear is unacceptable, especially at the olympics of all places! That guy should have known better!

  3. Jonathan Moore says:

    Also, Rebecca Soni is a Trojan. Just thought you’d like to know 😉

  4. Don, I saw what was obviously a camera setup on the floor of the pool the other night and told my wife, “I’ll bet you anything that’s Don Miralle’s gear.” From the looks of your photos, I’m pretty sure I was right. Right? Fabulous shots. How do you get permission to set up something that in the Olympic pool? I want to go on another trip and watch you work — what a pro!

  5. Great pictures. Sounds like the other photographer is feeling the strain, at home and at work. I feel for his wife and kids!

Leave a comment